Franklin: Then and Now The Sacred Heart School of Theology, located on Hwy. 100 near Rawson Avenue, was originally known as the Sacred Heart Monastery and as a seminary for the training of men into the priesthood. It was originally built across the street from the present buildings. The original building was built in 1897
A Call to Duty – A History of the Franklin Police Department
As Franklin changed from a township to a city in 1956, changes in its police department were also occurring. What was a quiet rural farming community now became a city of subdivisions, businesses and increased services. Along with that progress came the realization that the citizens of Franklin needed an expanded police presence. Prior to
Living in the 1950’s — “Franklin Style”
Franklin in the 1950’s still retained its rural landscape and its people were very self-sufficient. There was very little commercial development and its businesses centered around farm equipment stores, local general stores, gas stations and taverns. This is in contrast to the Franklin of today where families have easy access to retail establishments, restaurants, banks,
Flying into Franklin — The City’s Aviation History
FLYING INTO FRANKLIN — THE CITY’S AVIATION HISTORY As a rural town and then a city, Franklin was fortunate enough to have two small airports within its boundaries and to have been the original home of the EAA –Experimental Aircraft Association — museum and international headquarters. It was after World War II that Franklin became
A History of the “Free Thinkers” in Franklin
Many people are curious about the quaint old building that sits nestled in a grove of spruce trees off the corner of Ryan Rd. and 27th Street. The community surrounding that crossroad was known years ago as Painesville. It was on the border of Franklin and Oak Creek and settled by predominately German families. To
Surprise Wedding Becomse Part of July 4th Celebration
For a local Franklin couple this past 4th of July celebration turned out to be a very important day and one that will hold special memories for a long time. Mary DeMotto and Neil Verburgt not only hosted their annual July 4th picnic for family and friends after the Franklin parade, but they announced that
The Summer Singers
The Summer Singers will be performing as part of the Smokehouse Dedication Program. The Summer Singers began singing together in 2007 so this our seventh summer together. The original members met as part of the larger Community Chorus of Hales Corners, but now we have members from all different choirs and areas. Most choirs go
Down On The Farm ……… Franklin Style
From the early beginnings and up until the 1950’s, Franklin was a very rural area, with family farms comprising a large part of the landscape. It was characteristic of these farm families to be very self-sufficient and independent, yet work cooperatively with their neighbors to meet the needs of the community. Life on the farm
Time Goes By Along “Old Loomis Road”
Businesses at intersections of major transportation routes, as in Franklin, were very common and used often by passing motorists. The area of 76th St. and Loomis Rd. was no exception. What residents of Franklin know today as the corner of 76th St. and Old Loomis Rd. was once a vibrant corner full of businesses that
August 2013 Newsletter
Here is the August 2013 Newsletter. (Click here to download)